Hike along the Fleimstal railway line

From Montan along the old railway line of the Fleimstalbahn with views of the Unterland and the South Tyrolean Wine Route.

Level of difficulty

Easy

The trip in pictograms

This tour was tested and documented by:

Wheelchair Tours

Impressions

Trip description

From the old station to the viaduct at Glen

Leave the car park at the beginning of Montan on the left, following the signs for "Bahnweg/Sentiero Ferrovia" and soon pass the old station building of the Fleimstal railway in Montan on the left. Shortly afterwards we cross a road and now hike straight ahead along the former railway line. The path leads comfortably along the vineyards, in sections a small river Waal accompanies us on the left side. On the right you have a beautiful view of the valley and the south of South Tyrol. In good weather you can watch the cars on the wine road. After approx. 1.5 km we reach a viaduct, over which the railway line was led at that time. Here we now continue uphill in a hairpin bend.

From the hairpin bend to Enn Castle

We ride along the loop and at the end follow the signs "Bahnweg" back in the direction we came from, but this time a few meters higher up. On the right hand side is the village of Glen, which is why the viaduct is often referred to as the "Glen Viaduct". For a short section we have gradients of around 11% to contend with. However, after about 300m it returns to the usual gradient of 5-10%. We follow the railway track and after a short time we cross a road again. The path now leads more and more through forest. If you want, you can take a shortcut to the left after a while and hike back to Montan. However, we stay on the railway path and now go through the first railway tunnel. Altogether there are 2 on the route. So we hike on comfortably and reach after approx. 3.7 km the highest point with 633 meters. Behind the deciduous trees you can already guess the castle Enn.

From the castle through Montan back to the parking lot

Since Enn Castle is not open to visitors, we hike past it and instead enjoy the light in the autumnal deciduous trees. A short time later, the railway path ends and a path (asphalted) leads further up on the right. If you don't want to leave the railway track here, you can follow the asphalted path. After about 1.5 km, you return to the railway path into the Fleimstal valley.
However, we decide to leave the railway path and walk left following the forest path back towards Montan. After a while we reach the busy SS48 road, but we can turn left directly towards Montan without any further points of contact. We use the pavement (as far as it goes) and after a short while - over cobblestones and with up to 15% gradient - we reach Montan. Through the village we then return to the parking lot.

Trail conditions

Continuously wide hiking trail with fine gravel and partly (due to the foliage of the trees) forest floor or gravel with foliage. The last stretch through Montan is partly cobblestone.

Directions

Via the Brenner motorway to the "Tramin" exit. Then follow the SP16 in the direction of Montan. Directly at the beginning of Montan there is a parking lot on the right at the old station building of the Fleimstalbahn.

Another possibility from Bolzano along the SS12 in the direction of Auer. Then take the SS48 in the direction of Montan.

Time requirement

There and back in total about 1 1/2 hours.

Difference in altitude

On this tour only a small difference in altitude of approx. 180 m is overcome.

Suitable wheelchair

  • Wheelchair with traction device
  • off-road power wheelchairs

Accompanying person

An escort is not necessary as there are only gentle gradients. Reversing or pushing assistance should not be necessary.

Click the button below to download the content of www.komoot.de.

Load content

Level of difficulty

Easy

Explanation

The route runs mostly with a gradient of 5-10%. The trail is well developed, the surface is easy to ride on and is kept in good order throughout. Pushing assistance from a companion or reversing are not necessary here. There are small sections with up to 15% incline or decline, but these are good to ride due to the trail quality.

Resting facilities

Tested:

Unfortunately, there were no inns open at that time, which is why we can't list any experience reports here.

However, there are two restaurants in Auer that are barrier-free.
 - Restaurant & Pizzeria Aura
 - Café Prossliner

Accessible toilet

As far as we know, there are no barrier-free toilets directly in Montan and along the hiking trail.

However, there are barrier-free toilets in Café Prossliner and Restaurant Aura in Auer.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

construction site

As you may have noticed, we are currently in the process of translating our website and adding more languages. Since this is technically somewhat complex, not all pages are currently available in all languages or only in one language. Translation by an AI (artificial intelligence) is available. 

Due to the installation of the translation technology in the website, some formatting has unfortunately broken. We try to restore these as soon as possible. 

Thank you for your understanding!

Wanderung entlang der Fleimstalbahn-Trasse

Von Montan entlang der alten Bahntrasse der Fleimstalbahn mit Blick auf das Unterland und die Südtiroler Weinstrasse.

Schwierigkeitsgrad

Leicht

Die Tour in Bildern

Diese Tour wurde getestet und dokumentiert von:

Wheelchair Tours

Impressionen

Wegbeschreibung

Vom alten Bahnhof zum Viadukt bei Glen

Wir verlassen den Parkplatz am Anfang von Montan links den Hinweisschildern „Bahnweg/Sentiero Ferrovia“ folgend und kommen schon bald links am alten Bahnhofsgebäude der Fleimstalbahn in Montan vorbei. Kurz danach kreuzen wir eine Straße und wandern nun geradeaus auf der ehemaligen Bahntrasse. Der Weg führt gemütlich an den Weinhängen entlang, abschnittsweise begleitet uns ein kleiner Waal auf der linken Seite. Rechts hat man einen wunderschönen Blick auf das Tal und den Südtiroler Süden. Bei gutem Wetter kann man die Autos auf der Weinstraße beobachten. Nach ca. 1,5 km erreichen wir ein Viadukt, über das die Bahntrasse damals geführt wurde. Hier geht es nun in einer Kehrschleife weiter hinauf.

Von der Kehrschleife zum Schloss Enn

Wir fahren der Kehrschleife entlang und folgen am Ende angelangt den Schildern „Bahnweg“ zurück in die Richtung aus der wir gekommen sind, diesmal jedoch einige Höhenmeter weiter oben. Auf der rechten Seite liegt das Örtchen Glen, weswegen das Viadukt auch gerne als „Viadukt von Glen“ bezeichnet wird. Für einen kurzen Abschnitt haben wir Steigungen von ca. 11% zu bewältigen. Nach ca. 300m geht es jedoch wieder auf die gewohnte Neigung von 5-10% zurück. Wir folgen dem Bahnweg und überqueren nach kurzer Zeit erneut eine Strasse. Der Weg führt nun vermehrt durch Wald. Wer möchte kann nach einiger Zeit links eine Abkürzung nehmen und bereits hier nach Montan zurückwandern. Wir bleiben jedoch auf dem Bahnweg und fahren nun durch den ersten Bahntunnel. Insgesamt befinden sich 2 auf der Strecke. So wandern wir gemütlich weiter und erreichen nach ca. 3,7 km den höchsten Punkt mit 633 Metern. Hinter den Laubbäumen kann man bereits das Schloss Enn erahnen.

Vom Schloss durch Montan zurück zum Parkplatz

Da das Schloss Enn nicht für Besucher geöffnet ist wandern wir daran vorbei und genießen stattdessen das Licht in den herbstlichen Laubbäumen. Kurze Zeit später endet der Bahnweg und es führt rechts ein Weg (asphaltiert) weiter hinauf. Wer hier noch nicht den Bahnweg verlassen mag, kann dem asphaltierten Weg folgen. Nach ca. 1,5 km geht es zurück auf den Bahnweg hinein ins Fleimstal.
Wir jedoch beschließen den Bahnweg zu verlassen und wandern links dem Forstweg folgend zurück in Richtung Montan. Nach einiger Zeit erreichen wir die stark befahrene Straße SS48, können aber ohne weitere Berührungspunkte direkt links in Richtung Montan abbiegen. Wir nutzen den Bürgersteig (soweit er geht) und erreichen nach kurzer Zeit – über Kopfsteinpflaster und mit bis zu 15% Gefälle – Montan. Durch den Ort geht es dann zurück zum Parkplatz.

Wegbeschaffenheit

Druchgehend breiter Wanderweg mit feinem Schotter und teilsweise (aufgrund des Laubs der Bäume) Waldboden bzw. Schotter mit Laub. Auf dem letzten Stück durch Montan ist teilweise Kopfsteinpflaster vorhanden.

Anfahrt

Über die Brenner-Autobahn bis zur Ausfahrt „Tramin“. Dann der SP16 in Richtung Montan folgen. Direkt am Anfang von Montan liegt rechts ein Parkplatz am alten Bahnhofsgebäude der Fleimstalbahn.

Weitere Möglichkeit von Bozen der SS12 entlang in Richtung Auer. Dann auf die SS48 in Richtung Montan.

Zeitaufwand

Hin – und Rückweg insgesamt ca. 1 1/2 Stunden.

Höhenunterschiede

Auf dieser Tour wird nur ein geringer Höhenunterschied von ca. 180 m überwunden.

Geeignet für welchen Rollstuhl?

  • manueller Rollstuhl mit Zugmotor
  • geländegängige Elektrorollstühle

Begleitperson

Eine Begleitperson ist nicht notwendig, da nur leichte Steigungen vorhanden sind. Rückwärtsfahren oder Schiebehilfe sollte nicht notwendig sein.

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von www.komoot.de zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Schwierigkeitsgrad

Leicht

Begründung

Die Strecke verläuft meistens mit einer Steigung von 5-10%. Der Weg ist gut ausgebaut, der Belag ist gut befahrbar und wird durchgehend in Ordnung gehalten. Schiebehilfe einer Begleitperson oder Rückwärtsfahren sind hier nicht notwendig. Es gibt kleine Abschnitte mit bis zu 15% Steigung bzw. Gefälle, diese sind jedoch aufgrund der Wegqualität gut zu befahren.

Einkehrmöglichkeiten

Selbst getestet:

Leider waren zum damaligen Zeitpunkt keine Gasthäuser geöffnet, weswegen wir hier leider keine Erfahrungsberichte aufführen können.

In Auer gibt es jedoch zwei Restaurants, die barrierefrei sind.
 – Restaurant & Pizzeria Aura
 – Café Prossliner

Barrierefreies WC

Direkt in Montan und am Wanderweg stehen unseres Wissens keine barrierefreien Toiletten zur Verfügung.

Im Café Prossliner und im Restaurant Aura in Auer befinden sich jedoch barrierefreie Toiletten.

Schreibe einen Kommentar zu %s

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Baustelle ...

Wie du vielleicht gemerkt hast, sind wir gerade dabei unsere Webseite neu zu übersetzen und weitere Sprachen aufzunehmen. Da dies technisch etwas aufwendig ist, stehen dir aktuell nicht alle Seiten in allen Sprachen oder nur in einer Übersetzung durch eine KI (künstliche Intelligenz) zur Verfügung. 

Durch den Einbau der Übersetzungstechnik in die Webseite sind leider auch einzelne Formatierungen kaputtgegangen. Wir versuchen auch diese schnellstmöglich wieder herzustellen. 

Danke für dein Verständnis!